The Autumn Sun winning the Hobartville Stakes Picture: Racing and Sports

2022 Hobartville Stakes: Race History

15th Febuary 2022


The Autumn Sun defined his abilities here. Take note of the 2022 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill on Saturday.

2022 Hobartville Stakes: Nominations


The Hobartville Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds and has long been regarded as a grounding race for potential Group One winners.

The Hobartville Stakes was originally an early spring event but maintained its place as a lead-up to the Sydney classics when the AJC Australian Derby was transferred to the Autumn along with the Canterbury and Rosehill Guineas in 1978.

The Hobartville, named after one of the most historic thoroughbred stud farms in NSW, is run over 1400m under Set Weight conditions.

It was traditionally held at Warwick Farm but in more recent times has alternated between Rosehill Gardens and Royal Randwick due to changes to the autumn carnival agenda.

Previous Hobartville Stakes winner Dissident went on to win the Randwick Guineas at his next start in 2014.

Hallowed Crown won the Hobartville Stakes in 2015 after winning the G1 Golden Rose (1400m) at Rosehill the previous spring. Hallowed Crown also went on to win the Randwick Guineas in 2015 at his next start. Kementari repeated the progression from the Hobartville.

Other subsequent G1 winners to win the Hobartville Stakes in recent years include Pierro (2013), who won the Canterbury Stakes and George Ryder Stakes both at G1 level at his next two starts before finishing second in the G1 Doncaster Mile.

It’s A Dundeel finished fourth in the Hobartville Stakes in 2013 before winning the G1 Rosehill Guineas and G1 ATC Australian Derby that autumn.

In 2019 The Autumn Sun kept up his brilliant record to win first up before taking both the Randwick and Rosehill Guineas. He was then retired immediately.

The kiwis came to town in 2021 with an unbeaten 3yo Aegon and he won in great fashion under Hugh Bowman.

The 2022 Hobartville Stakes was worth $400,000.

Other notable winners of the Hobartville Stakes have included Amounis, Flight, Shannon, Hydrogen, Todman, Wiggle, Wenona Girl, Baguette, Imagele, Sir Dapper, Shaftesbury Avenue, Danewin, Nothin’ Leica Dane, Arena, Fairway, Lonhro, Thorn Park, Racing To Win and Aegon.

The 2021 Hobartville Stakes was won by Aegon from North Pacific and Prime Star

Racing and Sports